Announcement Date: January 19, 1960

On January 28th, 1960 at the annual society dinner at the St. Regis Hotel in NewYork City, medals were awarded. Dr. Richard Hartshorne – who was part of a key geographical debate in the 1950s over the nature of geography as a subject- was awardedthe Charles P. Daly Medal. The David Livingstone Centenary Medal was awarded toWilliam E. Rudolph — who wrote about “Vanishing trails of Atacama Desert.”
On February 3, 1960, Louise A. Boyd became the first woman to be elected to theCouncil. Boyd stands unique among women associated with the AGS. She was thepremier female scientific explorer of the first three-quarters of the twentieth century. Sheled eight expeditions to Arctic and sub-Arctic regions.