Announcement Date: January 19, 1998

At the 1998 Awards Ceremony and Banquet in Milwaukee, the Society’s most prestigious medals were presented. Award recipients include: Professor Arthur H. Robinson of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, who literally “wrote the book” on modern cartography and geodesy; academician Chen Shupeng of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, who pioneered and championed automated cartography, remote sensing and GIS in China; Professor Robert C. West of Louisiana State University, a renowned regional geographer specializing in Latin America; and science writer DavaSobel, authorof Longitude (1995), an in-depth history of the quest for longitude, which has sold over 2million copies in 17 languages.