Announcement Date: January 19, 1999

Donald J. Lloyd-Jones received the Samuel Finley Breese Morse Medal for “extraordinary service to the Society and to the field of geography at large. ” Donald J.Lloyd-Jones was President of the American Geographical Society, and joined the AGS Council in 1972.
Jack Dangermond and David Lowenthal were each honored with the Cullum Geographical Medal. Mr.Dangermond is the founder and president of the Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI) and has been the foremost leader of one of the greatest revolutions in the history of geography – the advents of Geographical Information Systems (GIS). Dr Lowenthal devoted much of his prodigious energy to the American Geographical Society, serving as a Research Associate and as Secretary to the AGS Council.