Honorary Fellows

Honorary Fellowships

Honorary Fellowships are bestowed on individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of geography. At the time of the founding of The Society in 1851, provision was made for a category of Honorary Fellows, and, until the first medal was awarded in 1896, this was the only honor the institution could bestow. Many of the Honorary Fellows are some of the most recognized names in geographical and exploration history. It is impossible to list here the more than three hundred names that comprise the roster over more than a century, but a sampling of the illustrious names from the early days gives some of their flavor. Some of the more recent Honorary Fellows later became medallists, as indicated on the following list, which carries, the roll from 1918.

2018 Ian Frazier
2016 Roberta Balstad
Barbara Ryan
2015 Jesse Ausubel
D. James Baker
Jeffrey Sachs
1998 Dava Sobel
1997 Anastasia Van Burkalow
1989 Harm J. de Blij
1988 William Warntz
1987 William Bradley
David H. K. Amiran
1986 Daniel J. Boorstin
Vladimir Mikhailovich Kotlyakov
1985 Karl W. Butzer
M. Fernand Braudel
Walter Isard
Jerzy Kostrowicki
Sir W. Arthur Lewis
Karl Sinnhuber
1984 R. W. Richards
1975 Sir Laurence P. Kirwan
Andrew H. Clark
1974 Marton Pecsi
Evelyn L. Pruitt
1973 Meredith F. Burrill
Sir. A. Grenfell Price
1972 Konstantin A. Salishchev
Richard L. Morrill
David Lowenthal (Cullum Medal, 1999)
1971 Louis O. Quam
Hans Kinzl
1970 Charles W. M. Swithinbank
Alexander Melamid (Morse Medal, 1991)
1969 Hans Boesch
Marvin Mikesell
1968 S.P. Chatterjee
Clara Egli Le Gear
Lionel A. Walford
J. Russell Whitaker
1967 William A. Hance
1966 Waldo R. Tobler (Miller Medal, 1989)
1965 Maxwell J. Dunbar
Peveril Meigs
1964 Kenneth C. Cumberland
Arch C. Gerlach
S. V. Kalesnik
1963 John Quincy Stewart
Gilbert Fowler White (Daly Medal, 1971)
Georg Wuest
1962 F. Kenneth Hare (Cullum Medal, 1987)
Samuel Van Valkenburg
1961 Clarence Fielden Jones
John Ewing Orchard
Robert H. Randall
H. Bradford Washburn
1958 Felix Cardona Puig
1956 Jean Gottmann (Daly Medal, 1964)
Stephen B. Jones
Rafael Pico
1952 John Foster Dulles
1949 Wofford Benjamin Camp
1948 Charles H. Behre, Jr.
Owen Lattimore
John Leighly (Cullum Medal, 1964)
George McCutchen McBride (Livingstone Medal, 1956)
Robert Larimore Pendleton (Livingstone Medal, 1950)
George H. H. Tate
Charles Warren Thornthwaite (Cullum Medal, 1958)
1943 ChristovamLeite de Castro
Manuel Medina
1942 Albert Berthold Hoen
1939 Ernest Antevs
Henri Baulig (Daly Medal, 1948)
Giotto Dainelli
Sir Wilfred Grenfell
Ludwig Leonhard Mecking
William E. Rudolph (Livingstone Medal, 1959)
Paul Gerhard Schott
Laurence Dudley Stamp (Daly Medal, 1950)
1935 Rafael Auguilar y Santillan
Hans Wilson Ahlmann (Cullum Medal, 1950)
Charles Carlyle Colby
Osbert Guy Stanhope Crawford
Carlos M. Delgado de Carvalho (Livinstone Medal, 1952)
Charles Bungay Fawcett
Nevin M. Fenneman
Alexander Forbes (Daly Medal, 1938)
William Archibald Mackintosh
Lawrence Martin
Carl Ortwin Sauer (Daly Medal, 1940)
Camille Vallaux
1932 Field Marshall Lord Allenby
Harry Clifton Heaton
1931 Louise Arner Boyd (Cullum Medal, 1938)
1930 Roberto Almagia (Cullum Medal, 1952)
Henry Bryant Bigelow
Baron Sten De Geer
Carl Ben Eielson
Vernor Clifford Finch
Herbert John Fleure (Daly Medal, 1939)
Julio Garzon Nieto (Daly Medal, 1941)
Alfredo Jahn
William B. Mayo
Henri Francois Pittier
Sir Napier Shaw
Hussein SirriBey
Harald U. Sverdrup
1924 Andre Allix
Edwin R. Hearth
Lauge Koch (Daly Medal, 1930)
Paul Le Cointe
Count Byron Kuhn de Prorock
Homer Leroy Shantz
1923 E. Deville
1922 Gunnar Andersson
Charles Raymond Beazley
Jose J. Bravo
James Henry Breasted
Jean Brunhes (Cullum Medal, 1929)
Henry Chandler Cowles
Baron Gerard De Geer
Albert Demangeon
Lucien Gallois (Cullum Medal, 1925)
Guillaume Grandidier
Adolphus Washington Greely (Daly Medal, 1922)
David George Hogarth
Sir Thomas Holdich
Mark Jefferson (Cullum Medal, 1931)
Curtis Fletcher Marbut (Cullum Medal, 1930)
Olinto Marinelli
John Linton Myers
Charles Rabot
Sir Aurel Stein
Jean Tilho
Frederick Jackson Turner
Robert De Courcy Ward
1919 Morten P. Porsild
Knud Rasmussen (Daly Medal, 1924)
1918 E.C. Andrews
Robert A. Bartlett (Daly Medal, 1925)
Pierre Denis
William Curtis Farabee
Emmanuel de Margerie (Cullum Medal, 1919)
Emmanuel de Martonne (Cullum Medal, 1939)
Marion E. Newbigin
Paul Walle